Supporting your patients

We want to make sure your patients can easily find out more about Your Care Connected so that they are able to make informed decisions about the sharing of their information for their direct care. Many patients will no doubt visit their GP practice with questions about the service, so it is important that you are able to help point them towards more information, whether that be this website, our new leaflet or our support voicemail service. 

Please see below for more information on just some of the ways we are providing information to patients.

Our patient leaflet



We have created a new patient information leaflet, which was designed in collaboration with primary and secondary care staff, as well as patients.

The leaflet can be made available to your practice in other languages, easy read format for those with learning disabilities, or braille. Please contact the team for more information.

Our patient letter


The Your Care Connected patient information letter will be sent to every registered patient aged 15 years 11 months and over. The letter clearly explains what Your Care Connected is, the benefits it brings, what information is/isn't shared and with whom. It also includes an opt-out form should the patient choose to opt-out.

 

About the patient letter

Why are we writing to patients aged 15 years and 11 months and over?

Patients will have four weeks from the date of the letter to opt out before we activate the system at your practice. This means that, by the time the system is activated, those patients will have turned 16 and will be able to make decisions about their own healthcare without the need for a parent or guardian's consent. This decision was made following consultation with legal representatives and information governance experts.

Can patients opt out after this four weeks?

Yes, patients can opt-out whenever they want, even after the initial four weeks. The four-week period acts as a buffer to ensure no one's record is accessed before they've had a chance to review the information and opt out should they so wish. Patients can opt-out after this period, but the system will have been activated and their record would be available should they visit one of the participating organisations until they go to their practice and opt out. We have added an additional layer of security, however, because patient's must provide their permission to the person treating them the first time they visit an organisation. Without this permission, the patient's record cannot be viewed.

Sharing information to improve the care your receive in Birmingham, Sandwell & Solihull © 2016 Your Care Connected